CHÂTEAU PEYRELONGUE

Château Peyrelongue has been going through history for over two centuries. Derived from the local dialect, its name refers to the “Pierre Longue” which stood at the entrance to the property, at the crossroads. Menhirs marked out the pilgrimage routes to Saint Jacques de Compostela over the centuries.

Located at the foot of the Saint Emilion hillside, Château Peyrelongue has been a family property for more than two centuries. After passing the torch from one family to another, in 2015 we had the chance to cultivate its vines, the oldest of which are nearly 60 years old.

The property covers 8.5 ha, including 6 ha of Merlot, 1.5 ha of Cabernet Franc and 1 ha of Cabernet Sauvignon.

The flagship grape of the Right Bank of Bordeaux, Merlot brings fruit and charm to our wines. Cabernet Franc gives spicy wines of great finesse, Cabernet Sauvignon brings structure and freshness. It is the blend of these three grape varieties that gives our wines its typicity.

The sandy terroir typical of the “pied de coasts” of the Saint-Emilion wine-growing area is based on a subsoil of clay and iron filth in which the roots plunge to great depth.

 

Every day, from pruning to harvest, we pay particular attention to the work carried out in the vines, because it is there that great wines are born. Attentive to the development of the plant, we reason the method of pruning, the inputs of manure, the treatments necessary to help it fight its main enemies such as downy mildew and cluster worms, green work (suckering, lifting and lifting , stripping). At each stage, we try to move towards the balance of the vines in their terroir, a guarantee of the quality of the grapes harvested each year.

Our vines are harvested mechanically and then the grapes are hand-sorted on arrival at the cellar. Our wines are vinified manually in our recently modernized traditional cellar, in concrete or stainless steel tanks. They are then aged in vats or barrels depending on the vintage before being bottled at the property.

 

The wine from our vines can be produced in AOC Saint-Emilion and AOC Saint-Emilion Grand Cru.

To produce an AOC Saint-Emilion Grand Cru wine, the conditions are more restrictive, in particular requiring the wine to be aged for at least 18 months before bottling. We use this time to age our Château Peyrelongue in French oak barrels for 12 months. The wine is then assembled in vats and prepared for bottling which takes place in spring. Since the 2016 vintage, we have also produced a cuvée vinified and aged for 20 months in new oak barrels: L'Etoile. This wine combines the charm of fruit and the concentration of matter.

Our AOC Saint Emilion Château Peyrelongue Le Flambeau wine is vinified and aged in vats to keep its freshness and fruity aromas.

The annual yields authorized by decree are around 55 hl / ha in AOC Saint-Emilion and 50 hl / ha in AOC Saint-Emilion Grand Cru, this is how we can produce each year, depending on weather conditions, around 50,000 bottles of wine.

 

SAINT EMILION

A true open-air museum, the village of Saint Emilion welcomes around one million visitors each year; wine lovers, history buffs and curious people.
Located in the heart of the Libourne country, 40 kilometers from Bordeaux, the medieval city is full of various riches.

ITS HISTORY

Founded in the 13th century around the hermitage of a monk named Emilion, the city has gone through turbulent times, from the Moorish invasions to the French Revolution.

Among the events of history, the Hundred Years War, the last battle of which took place in 1453 a few kilometers away, near the village of Castillon, making the Duchy of Aquitaine French under English domination for more than a century; and the religious wars opposing the Protestants of Dordogne and the Catholics of Bordeaux in this valley where Michel de Montaigne was born, who gave his name to the village where he lived.

CHÂTEAU PEYRELONGUE

Le Château Peyrelongue traverse l’Histoire depuis plus de deux siècles. Issu du patois local, son nom fait référence à la « Pierre Longue » qui se tenait à l’entrée de la propriété, à la croisée des chemins. Des menhirs balisaient les chemins de pèlerinage de Saint Jacques de Compostelle au long des siècles.

Situé au pied du coteau de Saint Emilion, le Château Peyrelongue est une propriété familiale depuis plus de deux siècles. Après un passage de Flambeau d’une famille à l’autre, en 2015 nous avons la chance de cultiver ses vignes dont les plus anciennes ont près de 60 ans.

La propriété d’étend sur 8,5 ha, dont 6 ha de merlot, 1,5 ha de Cabernet Franc et 1 ha de Cabernet Sauvignon.

Cépage phare de la Rive Droite de Bordeaux, le merlot apporte son fruit et son charme à nos vins. Le cabernet franc donne des vins épicés d’une grande finesse, le cabernet sauvignon apporte structure et fraîcheur. C’est l’assemblage de ces trois cépages qui donne sa typicité à nos vins.

Le terroir de sable typique de « pied de côtes » de la zone viticole de Saint-Emilion repose sur un sous-sol d’argile et de crasse ferrique dans lequel les racines plongent à grande profondeur.

 

Chaque jour, de la taille à la vendange, nous portons un soin particulier aux travaux effectués dans les vignes, car c’est là que naissent les grands vins. Attentifs au développement de la plante, nous raisonnons le mode de taille, les apports de fumure, les traitements nécessaires pour l’aider à combattre ses principaux ennemis comme le mildiou et les vers de grappe, les travaux en vert (épamprage, levage et relevage, effeuillage). A chaque étape, nous tentons d’aller vers l’équilibre de la vigne dans son terroir, gage de la qualité du raisin récolté chaque année.

Nos vignes sont vendangées mécaniquement puis le raisin est trié à la main à l’arrivée au chai. Nos vins sont vinifiés manuellement dans notre chai traditionnel récemment modernisé, dans des cuves en béton ou en inox. Ils sont ensuite élevés en cuve ou en barriques selon les cuvées avant d’être mis en bouteille à la propriété.

 

Le vin issu de nos vignes peut être produit en AOC Saint- Emilion et AOC Saint-Emilion Grand Cru.

Pour produire un vin d’AOC Saint-Emilion Grand Cru, les conditions sont plus restrictives, imposant notamment un vieillissement du vin d'au moins 18 mois avant mise en bouteilles. Nous mettons à profit cette période pour élever notre Château Peyrelongue en barriques de chêne français pendant 12 mois. Le vin est ensuite assemblé en cuve et préparé pour la mise en bouteille qui a lieu au printemps. Depuis le millésime 2016, nous produisons aussi une cuvée vinifiée et élevée pendant 20 mois en fûts de chêne neufs : L’Etoile. Ce vin allie le charme du fruit et la concentration de la matière.

Notre vin d’AOC Saint Emilion Château Peyrelongue Le Flambeau est vinifié et élevé en cuve pour garder sa fraîcheur et ses arômes fruités.

Les rendements annuels autorisés par décret sont de l’ordre de 55 hl/ha en AOC Saint-Emilion et 50 hl/ha en AOC Saint- Emilion Grand Cru, c’est ainsi que nous pouvons produire chaque année, selon les conditions météo, environ 50 000 bouteilles de vin.

 

SAINT EMILION

Véritable musée à ciel ouvert, le village de saint Emilion accueille chaque année environ un million de visiteurs ; amateurs de vins, passionnés d’histoire et curieux.
Située au cœur du pays libournais, à 40 kilomètres de Bordeaux, la cité médiévale regorge de richesses diverses.

SON HISTOIRE

Fondée au XIIIème siècle autour de l’ermitage d’un moine nommé Emilion, la cité a traversé des époques mouvementées, des invasions maures à la Révolution française.

Parmi les événements de l’Histoire, la guerre de Cent ans, dont la dernière bataille eu lieu en 1453 à quelques kilomètres, près du bourg de Castillon, rendant français le duché d’Aquitaine sous domination anglaise depuis plus d’un siècle ; et les guerres de religions opposant les protestants de Dordogne et les catholiques de Bordeaux dans cette vallée où naquit Michel de Montaigne qui a donné son nom au village où il vécut.

©2020 Château Peyrelongue

Conception et réalisation par Delphine de Castelbajac
Copyright ©2020 Jean-Matthieu Gauthier Photographe